Zunerama logo   
News: Find Zune accessories

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. April 17, 2014, 08:51:10 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Radio Shack needs more "weird stuff"  (Read 6558 times)
Zunerama Ed.
Administrator
zune overlord

View Profile WWW Email
« on: October 14, 2007, 05:22:25 PM »

I am increasingly disenchanted with my local Radio Shack. A third of the store is devoted to cell phones, another third to iPod, and the remainder to cheap remote control toys. Where's the variety?

It's sad, because my mental image of the store is so different. A childhood memory of mine is going with my dad - a self-taught electronics wiz - to Radio Shack whenever we'd go to Kamloops (the nearest "big city" from the hamlet of my youth). The place seemed like a treasure trove of gadgetry and components.

Today's inventory is so vanilla. More annoying to me are the bemused and somewhat condescending reactions I get when I inquire about Zune. Yeah, guys, I know who the market leader is..!

Yesterday, I drop in on one of my local stores, which has one wall full of iPods and iPod accessories. In the midst of that wall is, inexplicably, a lone no-name Zune silicon case.

I ask the salesman if they are planning to carry Zune. It's a question I've asked at the same store several times over the past year. (My daughters now refuse to enter the store with me.)

He replied that he doubted it, but "you never know, because we've been getting some really weird stuff in here lately".

Someday, I hope that once again I'll see more of that weird stuff in Radio Shack.
« Last Edit: October 14, 2007, 05:25:40 PM by Zunerama Ed. » Logged

ballbagcheese
zune master

View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2007, 05:35:22 PM »

RadioShack sucks.  Maybe that is why the closed the 1000 or so stores in the last year.

MrJoe
zune commando

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2007, 05:47:15 PM »